Football News

Oshoala, Kerr, Bonmati, others nominated for 2023 Women’s Ballon d’Or Award [Full List]

Oshoala, Kerr, Bonmati, others nominated for 2023 Women’s Ballon d’Or Award [Full List] 1

Super Falcons striker Asisat Oshoala has been nominated for the women’s 2023 Ballon d’Or award following an excellent season with FC Barcelona Femini in the Spanish League.

Oshoala, the reigning Africa women’s player of the year, scored 21 goals in 28 games to lead FC Barcelona to the 2022/23 Spanish league title and was the Spanish club’s top-scorer with 27 goals in all competitions.

The 28-year-old played a key role in Barcelona retaining their domestic crown and winning the UEFA Women’s Champions League.

ALSO READ: Osimhen, Messi, Haaland named among 2023 Ballon d’Or nominees [Full List]

The two-time Champions League winner was also nominated for the award in 2022, becoming the first female African player to receive a Ballon Dór nomination, finishing 16th out of the 30 players shortlisted.

She made history at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand by becoming the first Nigerian and first female African player to score in three different World Cups.

The Super Falcons star scored in her World Cup debut against Sweden in 2015, against South Korea in 2019, and against Australia in 2023.

Nigeria exited the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup after losing 4-2 on penalties against eventual finalists—the Lionesses of England—in the Round of 16.

ALSO READ: FIFA set to pay World Cup prize money directly to players because of Super Falcons

Barcelona and Spain sensation Bonmati, vital in the Spanish women’s national team’s World Cup victory, is the frontrunner to receive the award her teammate, Alexia Putellas, won last year.

She is a strong contender to succeed Putellas after a fantastic tournament performance that included playing every game and winning the best player award.

Chelsea’s Sam Kerr is another likely winner, having scored 29 goals for the Blues last season as they won the domestic double before representing Australia at the World Cup.

The Ballon d’Or ceremony will take place at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris on October 30.

The Ballon d’Or women’s award nominees are:

Khadija Shaw (Man City)
Mapi Leon (Barcelona)
Mary Earps (Man United)
Asisat Oshoala (Barcelona)
Wendie Renard (Lyon)
Katie Mccabe (Arsenal)
Jill Roord (Wolfsburg and Man City)
Yui Hasegawa (Man City)
Alexandra Popp (Wolfsburg)
Aitana Bonmati (Barcelona)
Debinha (Kansas City)
Sam Kerr (Chelsea)
Guro Reiten (Chelsea)
Ewa Pajor (Wolfsburg)
Patricia Guijarro (Barcelona)
Daphne Van Domselaar (Twente and Aston Villa)
Lena Oberdorf (Wolfsburg)
Hinata Miyazawa (MyNavi Sendai and Man United)
Millie Bright(Chelsea)
Salma Paralluelo (Barcelona)
Sophia Smith (Portland Thorns)
Hayley Raso (Man City and Real Madrid)
Amanda Ilestedt (PSG and Arsenal)
Georgia Stanway (Bayern Munich)
Olga Ramona (Real Madrid)
Fridolina Rolfo (Barcelona)
Rachel Daly (Aston Villa)
Alba Redondo (Levante)
Linda Caicedo (Real Madrid)
Kadidiatou Diani (Lyon)

Previous ArticleNext Article
Send this to a friend