Football News

Erling Haaland wins Premier League Player of the Season award

Erling Haaland wins Premier League Player of the Season award 1

Erling Haaland has been named Premier League Player of the Year in his first season in England.

The Norwegian has scored 36 league goals in just 35 matches, breaking a 29-year record for the most goals in a Premier League season.

ALSO READ: EPL: Haaland smashes record as Manchester City beat West Ham to go top

He has also provided eight assists while guiding City to a third consecutive Premier League title and the FA Cup and Champions League finals in June.

Haaland’s 44 total goal involvements are the joint most in history, matching a record set by former Arsenal attacker Thierry Henry in the 2002/03 season.

ALSO READ: EPL: Haaland penalty hands Manchester City victory over stubborn Crystal Palace

City has now won the title for four years in a row, with teammate Kevin De Bruyne winning it in 2019/20 and 2021/22, and Ruben Dias winning it in 2020/21.

In 2011/12, Vincent Kompany also received the award.

De Bruyne was nominated for the accolade again this year after maintaining his lead in the assists chart with 16 so far.

Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka and Martin Odegaard, Manchester United’s Marcus Rashford, Tottenham’s Harry Kane, and Newcastle’s Kieran Trippier were also on the list.

Haaland has already won the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year title for 2023, receiving more than 80% of the voting.

He is also up for the PFA Player of the Season award.

Previous ArticleNext Article
Send this to a friend