Asake nominated for 2023 BBC Radio 1 Sound Award [Full List]

BBC Radio 1 Sound Award

Nigerian music sensation, Ahmed Ololade, popularly known as Asake, has been nominated for the BBC Radio 1 Sound Award for 2023.

ALSO READ: Asake: Biography, songs, record label, net worth, family

The BBC Radio 1 Sound Award is an initiative that honours the biggest and most exciting superstars.

The organisers unveiled the list on Monday, saying they were picked by a panel of over 130 experts and artists.

“The list was compiled using recommendations from 136 influential music experts, including artists, DJs, radio and TV producers, journalists, streaming experts, and festival bookers. All were asked to name their favorite three new acts, who could be performers from any country and any musical genre, whether or not they are signed,” it reads.

“They cannot have been the lead artist on a UK top five album or three UK top ten singles before 31 October 2022. They also must not already be widely known by the UK general public (for example, a member of a hit band going solo or a TV star) or have appeared on the Sound Of… list before.”

ALSO READ: No go carry wetin big pass you – Asake nearly falls off stage trying to carry an endowed lady

The winner will be made known on January 5, 2023, on Radio 1.

PinkPantheress, an English singer and songwriter, won last year’s edition of the BBC Radio 1 Sound Award.

Below is the full list of nominees:

  • Asake
  • Biig Piig
  • Cat Burns
  • Dylan
  • FLO
  • Fred Again
  • Gabriel
  • Nia Archives
  • Piri & Tommy
  • Rachel Chinouriri
Previous ArticleNext Article
Send this to a friend