The Gap

Get to know 5 African countries where it snows

Get to know 5 African countries where it snows

Africa is usually the last continent people think of when talking about snow. But there are certain African countries where it snows. Oftentimes, the Western media do not report this, leading many to believe that Africa is a continent where the climate is constantly hot and dry.

However, this article will debunk the myth by disclosing five African countries where snows fall.

5 African countries where it snows

5. Tanzania

Tanzania snow

Tanzania is the home of the tallest mountain in Africa, Kilimanjaro. The East African nation also enjoys some snow, thanks to the mountain. Mount Kilimanjaro is cool as a result of the equatorial trade winds and high-altitude anti-trades.

On top of the mountain, the weather can be as cold as -15 to -29 degrees Celsius. Snow usually falls around the area in June, July, August and September.

ALSO READ: Top 5 richest countries in Africa and the world

4. Uganda

Uganda snow

Uganda is another East African country where its people experience snow. Uganda is a landlocked republic with a developing economy. Part of the beauty of the country is its snow, thanks to Rwenzori Mountain.

Rwenzori Mountain, also spelt Ruwenzori, Rwenjura or Rwenzururu, is a range of mountains in eastern equatorial Africa, located on the border between Uganda and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. The mountain is so cold it has glaciers, snow and ice. The Rwenzori mountain is also the highest non-volcanic, non-orogenic mountain in the world.

3. Morocco

Morocco snow

Morocco is a North African country that shares borders with Algeria and is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean and the Mediterranean. With a landmass of 710,850 square kilometres, Morocco is the only African country in closest proximity to Spain, a European country.

Several areas of the nation have varying climates and temperatures. This means the country has both summer and winter just like Spain and other Western countries. The Moroccan weather can be as low as  -5°C (23.00F) to -8°C (17.6oF). Some certain parts of the country experience snow, particularly the north and central zones.

ALSO READ: 11 countries that have never been colonised

2. South Africa

South Africa snow

South Africa is one of the African giants on the continent and has also made giant strides globally in terms of economy, policies and tourism. South Africa is the only African country that is part of the prestigious G20. The country is also home to the largest stadium in Africa. With a landmass of 1,222,037 square kilometres, South Africa shares borders with Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, and Swaziland.

Some parts of the country are chilly while some parts have snow. The country is usually frigid, with temperatures as low as -16°C during the winter. This is due to the country’s positioning on the south pole, where it lies between 22 degrees south and 35 degrees south of the equatorial plane.

For instance, Johannesburg, South Africa’s largest metropolis and economic hub, is a chilly city with temperatures as low as 2°C in June and July and as high as 27°C in August. The city witnessed snowfall during the winter in 1956, 1962, 1964, 1981, 2007 and 2012. No wonder the country is one of the hottest destinations for Western settlers.

1. Lesotho

Lesotho snow

The Kingdom of Lesotho is a small landlocked country within Southern Africa.  It has a land area of 30,355 square kilometres and a population of 2.1 million people. Lesotho is known for its towering mountain peaks and breathtaking vistas. According to Try3Steps, the lowest point of elevation in Lesotho is 4,593 feet above sea level, making Lesotho the only country that lies entirely above 1,000 meters (3,280 feet). This explains why the country is often so cold.

One of the tourist attractions in the country includes the snow-capped mountains in the winter. From June through August, it is so cold during the winter period that the temperature can drop to 0 ° C (32 degrees F), with highs of 16/19 ° C (61 ° F). During this season, the lowlands may reach -7°C (19.4°F) and the highlands can reach -18°C (-0.4F).


Africa may not be associated with snow but you can agree that it does exist, based on the aforementioned instances. Africa is a rich continent with an abundance of human and mineral resources. The continent has a great place for agriculture and wildlife conservation.

So, having snow in several parts is just the tip of the iceberg. But you must have this knowledge so that you can correct anyone who claims that snow does not exist in Africa.

ALSO READ: Oldest countries in Africa, the world

Previous ArticleNext Article
Nonye is a Thespian, screenwriter, creative writer and an unapologetic lover of books, great movies and sports. She has over 10 years experience in content writing on entertainment, movies, sports and lifestyle. Nonye is currently a content writer at Blackdot Media and founder of
Send this to a friend